Hey look at this cool thing | Friday Link round up

phlegm

STREET ART PROJECT BY GOOGLE

Well, it certainly wasn’t my intention to be talking up our new insect overlords two weeks in a row, but then I discovered that the Google Cultural Institute is doing a thing that is pretty nifty: documenting and sharing street art. Browse curated exhibitions from around the world, (including those submitted by G+ users) and be sure the check out Phlegm‘s The Bestiary while you’re there.

The whole project raises some interesting questions about intellectual property, particularly given the ephemeral and transitory nature of street art. I’m excited to see how artists will respond to this – perhaps something akin to the awesomely cyberpunk idea of an “anti-face” can be applied to street art too. Which is not to say that I’m opposed to keeping records of this art, more that I’m interested to see the ways in which artists’ desire to control their own work will end up interacting with Google’s mission to assimilate us all.


Moulage_1_608px

LIFE DRAWING AT THE HARRY BROOKES ALLEN MUSEUM OF ANATOMY AND PATHOLOGY

Part of the NITE ART program happening in Melbourne from 6pm, 23rd July. I can’t go to this and it’s kind of a sore point for me, not just because it sounds great, but because many years ago I was a perky undergrad doing a life-drawing session at this very gallery, and one of the specimens triggered a panic attack so bad I had to leave after less than 5 minutes of drawing. It’s a weird little memory and I’d relish the chance to revisit the place now that I’m in more robust mental health. I’m sure the sketches coming out of this event are going to be gorgeous.

[Edit – This event is now totally booked out D-:]


Gut_twitter01

GUTENBERG BIBLE ON DISPLAY AT BAILLIEU LIBRARY, MELBOURNE UNI

This is exciting for a number of reasons, most of which centre around the fact that the Gutenberg Bible is rather important and has that whole aura-of-sacred-art-object thing going on, so I’m guessing that seeing it will be like meeting a celebrity of cult-status.

I’m sure John Berger might take issue with how flippant I’m being here but part of me finds a little bit of humor in applying his ideas to an object which so perfectly represents the power of mechanical reproduction.

Also, to continue with an already established theme, I’m a little bit fond of the Baillieu Library because of a (different) instance of undergrad panicking/hyperventilating/generally being overwhelmed, which occurred the first time I attempted to locate something in said library. Now that I’m officially a librarian I look forward to striding confidently around like I know exactly what I’m doing, uncowed by its vastness or its loveliness (and finally confident enough that I will just ask a librarian for help if I need it.)


THIS SCENE FROM PARTY GIRL

I came late to this movie (which apparently is the first movie ever shown in its entirety online), having only seen it a few weeks ago. It’s terrible in a lot of ways, but I did enjoy how weirdly specific it was regarding various aspects of library work. Particularly the Lynch-esque dream about the cascade of books falling down several flights of painted stairs: that was how I realised I wanted to be a librarian too.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

