Hey look at this cool thing | Friday link round up

Larisa Koshkina - September in the Forest - click for link

image by Larisa Koshkina – September in the Forest – click for link

FRAMTIDSBIBLIOTEKET (FUTURE LIBRARY)

Ok, I am super late to the party on hearing about Future Library (via Smithsonian.com). This is both good and bad, I think.

Bad, because clearly I have not got my finger on the pulse of exciting book news, unlike so many of my peers. Good, because everyone already knows about it, so no need to write a long thing explaining how it works. It’s neat though, and I’m impressed by the kind of large-scale thinking that’s at work. Generally when we talk about art in terms of its size, we’re talking about the space it occupies (or maybe the cost of its construction). It’s hard not to think of the endpoint – the creation of the Future Library – as being a fantastically long-term installation, made in collaboration with (at least) 101 artists.


George Hoddan - Books in the Grass - click for link

image by George Hoddan – Books in the Grass – click for link

DISABILITY IN KID LIT BLOG

An excellent collection of articles, interviews and more, which I happened to come across via an insightful interview with one of its contributors, Kayla Whaley, in Kill Your Darlings. There is some really thoughtful discussion happening here, and I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in children’s/MG/YA fiction. A few things to check out: Disability Tropes, Warning Flags and Turn Offs, and all of the articles.


Anna Langova - Old Book - click for link

image by Anna Langova – Old Book – click for link

IVY BLOSSOM ON LIBRARIANS AND LIBRARIANSHIP

This popped up on my Twitter feed and had me quietly nodding away, because yelling “hells yeah” at the computer would have meant creating a disturbance in the office.

Don’t get me wrong, we love books. Who doesn’t love books? We all love books! I write books for fun in my spare time! My bookshelves are groaning with books! But loving books does not qualify anyone to be a librarian, and that’s the bit prospective librarians often fail to understand. Unfortunately, 95% of the people who go to library school think their love of books will get them a job, and it won’t. We interview those people, they tell us they want to be a librarian because they love books, and we think, we’ve already got a dozen of you.

Prescient comments on librarianship’s need for innovators who embrace technology, which is something that was already on my mind after coming across David Weinberger’s Let the Future go at the start of the week.

I feel very fortunate that I’ve never worked with the pining-for-the-1950s type of librarian which Ivy Blossom describes, but I’ve certainly come across my fair share of people from outside the world of libraries who think of the profession in these terms. “It’s not about loving books”, I tell them. “It’s about loving people.” [1]


Geometric lattices made of sugar

Geometric lattices made of sugar

3D PRINTED SUGAR

It’s just really neat. Not enough to entice me to take sugar with my coffee, but there’s definitely something absolutely delightful about using 3D printing technology to make food.

[1]IMPORTANT: these conversations frequently take place in bars or at parties, precipitated by the “And what do you do?” question. Also, it’s perfectly normal for some people to get sentimental about their profession after just two G&Ts, especially if vegetarian hors d’oeuvres are in limited supply, forcing one to drink on an empty stomach

Leave a Reply

